Posted by: apal1528 | 03/03/2009

No Regrets

These last two weeks have been fun. School is going well, but I keep having trouble staying motivated to do homework. I feel like I’m at the place where I could improve my Chinese just by hanging out with Chinese people… and that’s kinda all I want to do.

There’s not a whole lot I can do about it, so I’ll have to get through it.

I’ve really been trying to alter how my mind thinks over the past few weeks. My mind tends to want to think about pointless things that I have no control over or that have no actual significance. For example I feel myself thinking about home a lot, how much I miss American food, culture and especially friends and family. It worries me to some extent because I don’t want to get hung up on nostalgia, I mean, I’m in a foreign country experiencing things that relatively few people get to experience and all I can do is get hung up on and waste time pondering home and what I’ll do when I get back. I know without the shadow of a doubt that upon my return I’ll really enjoy being home, but two weeks later I’ll only desperately want to come back. I know that I want to come back later on and perhaps even live here, I need to get over this too.

So, I will. I won’t think of home more than I need to and will enjoy the time I have here in thankfulness and enjoyment for the here and now. No regrets, no waiting on the future.

Zhongyang Dajiie in Harbin

A geriatric drum troupe on Zhongyang Dajie… quite entertaining

Leave a Reply

Categories

