Posted by: apal1528 | 10/15/2009

Interview

I’ve worked at Safeway for about two and a half years over the last five years. I was just re-hired about three months ago.

My goal from the start has been to one day become a Person in Charge, informally known as a PIC.

I’ve waited. Until yesterday. The store manager left me a message informing me he wanted to interview me. I was ecstatic.

That evening I was curious about the questions he would ask so I assumed somebody had had the same experience before and would probably have blogged about it. I googled Safeway PIC interview questions and similar queries to no avail.

I went to the interview unprepared, mostly unaware the types of questions he would ask. He gave me a lot of critiques.

So I want to help someone out there. Here are the questions to the best I can remember.

  1. Describe a specific experience when you were faced with an upset customer. What did you do, how did you help, were you successful in making them un-upset?
  2. Describe a specific experience when you coached a fellow employee. He was looking for encouraging a courtesy clerk to thank by name or offer carry out.
  3. When alone and in control of the store, what are the three most important things you should be focusing on?
  4. How will you use reports to meet goals? He was really vague on this one, he was looking for use of the out of stock report,  BRI, secret shops, etc.
  5. What is your experience with orders and ordering?
  6. Why do you want to be a PIC?
  7. What makes you qualified to be a PIC?

Hope this will help, I’ll add more as I remember them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

