Posted by: apal1528 | 01/14/2010

Very Soon

I leave at 1pm on January 26th. I have a layover in Seoul then head straight to Beijing Capital.

At this point, I’m excited. I’m sitting in Starbucks in North Bend, it reminds me of China, hopping from coffee shop to coffee shop in search of a reliable wifi connection. Reminiscing of my first adventure in China has me so ready to get back over there and meet new people and get my Chinese to where it should be.

The last few weeks at home have been fun. Staying with my parents and visiting friends has been a good preparation for six months abroad.

I’m doing a school program through the College of Business at WSU, we’ll be on the campus of Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (西南财经大学) in Chengdu. It should be interesting as it will be different from last year’s program – this one is in English and is taught by WSU professors. We’ll have English-speaking Chinese classmates and there’s only 5 American students. The term will be two months long and we’ll have plenty of time to take trips, take company tours and integrate being in China with the Business curriculum. It’ll be fun and enriching.

After I get done with the school portion I have an internship arranged with a company I came in contact with the last time I was in Chengdu. It’s called Milestone Global Consultants. I don’t have a super clear idea of what I’ll be doing, but I’m excited to see an American enterprise in China in action.

Apart from the tangible school and internship activities, I’m really looking forward to remove myself from the giddy/fad/honeymoon-esque China experience. I’d be open to living in China for longer periods of time in the future, and I want to go into this second trip with a more level headed and sober mindset. This isn’t just travel and a fun study abroad experience, it’s more of a test drive for what I might be doing later on.

Either way, I’m excited to get back.

12 days left!

Responses

  1. Have a good trip.

  2. Hi Andrew,
    This is a great blog. Keep it up. Have a good trip to China!
    Hai

  3. I hope it rocks man. I expect communication after you touch land! I wanted to say, though, that when I tried to do wordpress in China they had it blocked. :\ I had to switch to blogger.com, hopefully you won’t have to!


Leave a Reply

Categories

